Central Government Bans 23 Dangerous Dog Breeds Amid Rising Concerns

In response to a spate of dog attacks and rising concerns over public safety, the Central Government has taken decisive action by issuing directives to ban the sale and breeding of 23 dog breeds known for their aggressive behaviour. The move aims to curb the proliferation of these dangerous breeds and prevent further instances of pet-related injuries and fatalities.

Among the breeds listed for prohibition are well-known names such as pitbull Terriers, American Bulldogs, Rottweilers, Mastiffs, and several others notorious for their ferocity. The decision comes amidst mounting reports of dog attacks across the country, prompting the government to take proactive measures to protect citizens from harm.

Under the new directives, individuals will no longer be permitted to own or breed these 23 specified dog breeds. Additionally, existing pet owners are required to ensure that their dogs are sterilized to prevent further breeding and mitigate the risk of aggressive behaviour.

Certainly, here are the banned dog breeds as listed in the article:

1. Pitbull Terrier
2. American Bulldog
3. Rottweiler
4. Mastiffs
5. Tosa Inu
6. American Staffordshire Terrier
7. Fila Brasileiro
8. Dogo Argentino
9. Boerboel Kangal
10. Central Asian Shepherd Dogs
11. Caucasian Shepherd Dogs
12. South Russian Shepherd Dog
13. Tornjak
14. Sarplaninac
15. Japanese Tosa
16. Akita
17. Various types of Mastiffs
18. Various types of Terriers
19. Rhodesian Ridgeback
20. Wolf Dogs
21. Canario
22. Akbash Dog
23. Moscow Guard Dog
24. Cane Corso
25. Bandog

These breeds, along with crossbreeds, are prohibited for import, breeding, selling as pet dogs, and other purposes according to the directives issued by the Central Government.

The Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairy has received numerous representations from concerned citizens, advocacy groups, and animal welfare organizations calling for the ban on certain dog breeds deemed hazardous to human safety. An expert panel decided to compile a list of prohibited breeds after careful consideration and deliberation.

The banned breeds include a diverse range of dogs, from Pitbull Terriers to Tosa Inus, American Staffordshire Terriers to Fila Brasileiros, and many others. Notably, crossbreeds and mixed breeds are also included in the prohibition list, reflecting the government’s commitment to addressing all potential sources of danger.

Authorities are also considering additional measures to reinforce the ban, including restrictions on importing and selling these breeds for any purpose. The prohibition extends to activities such as breeding, selling as pet dogs, and other related purposes, ensuring comprehensive enforcement of the directive.

While the decision may spark debate among dog enthusiasts and breeders, the primary focus remains to safeguard public safety and to prevent future incidents of dog-related aggression. By proactively addressing the issue of dangerous dog breeds, the Central Government demonstrates its commitment to protecting the welfare of citizens and promoting responsible pet ownership.

As the ban takes effect, pet owners, breeders, and animal welfare advocates are urged to comply with the directives and work collaboratively to create safer communities for humans and animals alike. Through collective efforts and stringent enforcement, the government aims to mitigate the risks posed by dangerous dog breeds and foster a harmonious coexistence between pets and society.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>